spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches recoverable satellite
Posted: Thu, Aug 4, 2005, 7:30 AM ET (1130 GMT)
Long March 2C launch of FSW-19 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket successfully launched this week a recoverable satellite said to contain a scientific payload. The Long March 2C booster lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwestern China at 3:30 am EDT (0730 GMT, 3:30 pm Beijing time) Tuesday, carrying the FSW 21 satellite into low Earth orbit. Chinese media released few details about the mission, other than to say that the satellite is designed for scientific research, mapping, and other research. The satellite's scientific payload will be returned to Earth, most likely after a few weeks in orbit. The satellite is the 21st in a series of such missions dating back 30 years.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 15
First Man can't launch past Venom and A Star Is Born at the box office
Entertainment Weekly — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list