spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis docks with space station
Posted: Sat, Jul 14, 2001, 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)
STS-104 patch The space shuttle Atlantis docked with the International Space Station Friday night as shuttle and station crews prepared to install an airlock to the orbiting facility. Atlantis docked with the station at 11:08 pm EDT Friday night (0308 GMT Saturday), about 15 minutes late as the shuttle approached the station slightly slower than planned. After docking the STS-104 and ISS crews completed a dress rehearsal of the spacewalk Saturday night when a new airlock module, named Quest, will be attached to the station's Unity module. That spacewalk, by astronauts Mike Gernhardt and James Reilly, is scheduled to begin at 10:10 pm EDT Saturday night (0210 GMT Sunday) and will last seven hours. Two more spacewalks by Gernhardt and Reilly are planned for later in the mission. Those spacewalks should not be affected by battery acid leaking from a spare spacewalk discovered by the Atlantis crew during the day Friday. The leak was described as minor and the spacesuits Gernhardt and Reilly will use show no evidence of similar leaks. Shuttle and station managers will decide later in the week whether to leave the suit on the station when the shuttle leaves next Friday as currently planned.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list