spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


MRO launch delayed 24 hours
Posted: Wed, Aug 10, 2005, 10:23 AM ET (1423 GMT)
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA has delayed the launch of its Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) mission 24 hours in order to investigate a potential problem with a component on its launch vehicle. MRO was scheduled to lift off atop an Atlas 5 rocket Wednesday morning, but late Tuesday NASA delayed the launch after a gyro similar to those on the Atlas 5 failed during a factory test. Engineers will use the additional time to test whether the failure of the Redundant Rate Gyro Unit would have any effect on the Atlas 5 that will launch MRO. The launch has been rescheduled for Thursday at 7:50 am EDT (1150 GMT), pending resolution of the problem. The launch window for the mission remains open through the end of August. MRO will enter orbit around Mars and provide high-resolution imagery of the planet's surface for scientific purposes, as well as planning for future lander missions.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list