spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches Thaicom 4
Posted: Thu, Aug 11, 2005, 10:45 AM ET (1445 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch of Thaicom 4 (ESA/CNES/Arianespace) An Ariane 5 successfully launched a Thai communications satellite early Thursday. The Ariane 5G lifted off from the Kourou launch site in French Guiana at 4:20 am EDT (0820 GMT) and placed its payload, Thaicom 4, into a geosychronous transfer orbit 28 minutes later. The launch was delayed over an hour and a half while technicians resolved a sensor glitch with an engine igniter system that stopped the countdown 15 seconds before launch. The Space Systems/Loral-built satellite, weighing nearly 6,500 kilograms, is the largest commercial GEO communications satellite ever launched. Formerly known as iPSTAR, Thaicom 4 will be used by Thai satellite operator Shin Satellite broadband data services for much of the Asia Pacific region from 120 degrees east longitude.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list