spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Galaxy 14
Posted: Sun, Aug 14, 2005, 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Amos 2 satellite (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched an American communications satellite Saturday after a one-day delay. The Soyuz-Fregat lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 7:28 pm EDT (2328 GMT) Saturday and placed the Galaxy 14 satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit 97 minutes later. The launch was scheduled for Friday but was scrubbed in the final minute of the countdown when a telemetry problem occurred. Galaxy 14, a 2,000-kilogram satellite with 24 C-band transponders built by Orbital Sciences Corporation, will be used by PanAmSat at 125 degrees west to provide video programming. The satellite was originally planned for launch on an Ariane 5, but was moved to Soyuz to better meet PanAmSat's schedule.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Thursday, February 22
Aerojet Rocketdyne reports 4Q loss
AP — 6:16 am ET (1116 GMT)
Australia’s future in space
Australian Strategic Policy Institute — 6:15 am ET (1115 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list