spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts install space station airlock
Posted: Sun, Jul 15, 2001, 11:55 AM ET (1555 GMT)
Quest being lifted out of airlock during STS-104 EVA (NASA) Astronauts successfully attached a new airlock module to the International Space Station during a six hour spacewalk late Saturday night. The Quest airlock module was hauled out of the shuttle Atlantis's cargo bay by ISS astronaut Susan Helms, at the controls of the Canadarm2 robot arm on the station, and moved it into its position on the Unity node of the station. Astronauts Mike Gernhardt and James Reilly, who helped Helms guide Quest into place, then completed the installation of the module by completing electrical connections between Quest and Unity and attaching handholds to the exterior to the new module. The spacewalk started at 11:10 pm EDT Saturday (0310 GMT Sunday), about an hour later than planned as Gernhardt and Reilly took longer than planned to get ready, but ended nearly on schedule at 5:09 am EDT (0909 GMT) because the spacewalkers completed their tasks faster than expected. The two spacewalkers will perform two more EVAs on Tuesday and Thursday nights to attach gas tanks that will store nitrogen and oxygen while the module is being pressurized and depressurized.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list