spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew conducts spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Aug 19, 2005, 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)
ISS spacewalk by Exp. 11 (NASA) The two-man crew of the International Space Station performed a spacewalk outside the orbiting outpost Thursday night. Sergei Krikalev and John Phillips spent nearly five hours outside the ISS during the EVA, which started at 3:02 pm EDT (1902 GMT) Thursday. During the EVA the two spacewalkers removed a number of experiments mounted to the exterior of the station, including a torso-shaped container housing radiation exposure experiments. The spacewalkers also installed a TV camera on the Zvezda module. The spacewalk was wrapped up an hour early because one task, the removal of a grapple fixture on the Strela crane, was cancelled. The spacewalkers had fallen behind on their other tasks and ground controllers decided that Krikalev and Phillips would not have enough time to complete the Strela work.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list