spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Mon, Sep 5, 2005, 11:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a Russian military satellite on Friday. The Soyuz-U booster lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:50 am EDT (0950 GMT)and put the Kosmos 2415 satellite into low Earth orbit. Few details were provided by the Russian media about the launch, but Western observers believe the spacecraft is a reconnaissance satellite. The launch was the 1,700th involving the Soyuz family of launch vehicles. Russian military officials also denied a report Monday by the Interfax news service that Russia planned to abandon a smaller spaceport at Svobodny in the Russian Far East by the end of the decade. Svobodny had been seen as a potential alternative to Baikonur, which Russia must lease from Kazakhstan, but Svobodny has been used only sparingly in recent years for launches of the Start-1 small launcher.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list