spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

China launches second manned spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Oct 12, 2005, 12:53 PM ET (1653 GMT)
Long March 2F launch of Shenzhou 6 (Xinhua) China launched two astronauts into space early Wednesday on Shenzhou 6, its second manned spaceflight. A Long March 2F booster, improved to incorporate safety enhancements, lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in northwestern China at 9:00 pm EDT Tuesday (0100 GMT, 9:00 am Beijing time Wednesday) and placed the Shenzhou 6 spacecraft into low Earth orbit. On board the spacecraft are two astronauts, Fei Junlong and Nie Haisheng; their identities were not officially confirmed until a few hours before launch, although they had been widely reported to be the leading candidates to fly the mission. Shenzhou 6 is scheduled to remain in orbit for nearly five days, with Fei and Nie performing a number of experiments during the flight. The launch comes almost exactly two years after Shenzhou 5, China's first manned spaceflight: that mission flew one person into orbit for just under one day. Another manned mission, Shenzhou 7, is planned for 2007.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launch postponed
Posted: Thu, Nov 27 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list