spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cracks found in shuttle tank foam
Posted: Wed, Nov 23, 2005, 8:22 AM ET (1322 GMT)
STS-114: launch (NASA) Shuttle managers said Tuesday that technicians have found several small cracks in a problematic piece of foam on a space shuttle external tank. Officials said that examination of one external tank turned up nine small cracks in the PAL ramp, an area that was the source of a chunk of foam that came off the external tank used in July's launch of the shuttle Discovery. The tank in question had been filled twice with cryogenic propellants during tanking tests on the pad prior to Discovery's launch, but was replaced before launch. Engineers don't know yet what caused the cracks, and plan to continue testing to track down the problem. NASA had already been planning to remove the PAL ramp from future external tanks, although the engineering needed to do that may not be finished until next fall. The next shuttle mission is tentatively slated for May, although NASA officials made it clear yesterday that there is no schedule pressure within the program to launch by then.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, June 28
Spaceport Business Park gets closer to construction
Midland (TX) Reporter-Telegram — 5:28 am ET (0928 GMT)
Carter tours spaceport site
Brunswick (GA) News — 5:28 am ET (0928 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list