spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Mir power failure postpones Progress launch
Posted: Thu, Jan 18, 2001, 9:45 AM ET (1445 GMT)
Mir space station A power failure onboard the Mir space station forced Russian officials to postpone for several days Thursday's launch of a Progress spacecraft that will help deorbit the station. The power failure was noticed by ground controllers during a communications pass at 8:30 pm EST Wednesday (0130 GMT Thursday), about five and a half hours before the Progress M1-5 spacecraft was scheduled to launch from Baikonur, Spaceflight Now reported. The power failure took the station's gyroscopes and main computers offline, disabling its attitude-control system. Officials said it will take several days to restore those systems, delaying the Progress launch until at least Sunday. The Progress is carrying a large supply of propellant that will be used in early March to lower the station's orbit, with reentry over the Pacific Ocean scheduled for March 6. What effect, if any, the launch delay will have on that schedule is unknown.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list