spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

New Horizons ready for launch
Posted: Mon, Jan 16, 2006, 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)
New Horizons illustration (JHUAPL) All systems are go for Tuesday's launch of NASA's New Horizons mission to the distant planet Pluto, project officials said Sunday. An Atlas 5 is scheduled to launch the 465-kilogram spacecraft Tuesday at 1:24 pm EST (1824 GMT), at the beginning of a two-hour launch window. The mission passed its final pre-launch review on Sunday, and the launch vehicle will be rolled out to the pad Monday morning. Officials said that there are no problems with the fuel tank of the Atlas 5's first stage after inspections that delayed the launch six days. The inspections were prompted after a similar tank failed a qualification test at the factory; that tank was subjected to forces far more severe than what the tank on this rocket will be exposed to. New Horizons will be the fastest spacecraft ever to leave Earth upon launch, and will fly past Jupiter in early 2007. The spacecraft will fly past Pluto in mid-2015, after which project scientists hope to have the spacecraft fly past one or more Kuiper Belt objects.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
New crew arrives at ISS
Posted: Mon, Nov 24 5:44 AM ET (1044 GMT)

news links
Monday, November 24
Iconic Kennedy Space Center countdown clock removed
WESH-TV Orlando — 7:21 pm ET (0021 GMT)
NASA retires iconic KSC countdown clock
WTVT-TV Tampa Bay — 7:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)
MSFC, Space and Rocket Center plan Orion events
WAFF-TV — 7:15 pm ET (0015 GMT)
Orbital’s Cygnus – on a SpaceX Falcon 9?
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:11 pm ET (0011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list