spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Zenit 3SL launches EchoStar satellite
Posted: Thu, Feb 16, 2006, 5:37 AM ET (1037 GMT)
Zenit 3SL launch of EchoStar 10 (Sea Launch) A Sea Launch rocket successfully launched a new direct broadcasting satellite Wednesday evening. The Zenit 3SL lifted off from the Odyssey mobile launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 6:35 pm EST (2335 GMT). It released its payload, the EchoStar 10 satellite, into a geosynchronous transfer orbit about one hour later. The 4,300-kilogram satellite, a Lockheed Martin A2100AX model, will be located at 110 degrees west longitude, joining EchoStar's fleet of direct broadcast TV satellites. The launch, the first of six planned this year for Sea Launch, had been delayed a week because of ground system problems.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz upper stage issue may delay first OneWeb launch
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:34 AM ET (1534 GMT)

SSL backs out of satellite servicing program with DARPA
Posted: Sat, Feb 2 10:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)


news links
Saturday, February 16
Building a better booster (part 1)
The Space Review — 3:49 pm ET (2049 GMT)
A helping hand for giant telescopes
The Space Review — 3:48 pm ET (2048 GMT)
A space-focused alternative to a Green New Deal
The Space Review — 3:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Review: War in Space
The Space Review — 3:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list