spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Genesis launch delayed
Updated: Mon, Jul 30, 2001, 5:20 PM ET (2120 GMT)
Originally Posted: Mon, Jul 30, 2001, 11:30 AM ET (1530 GMT)
Genesis spacecraft illustration (NASA) The launch of NASA's Genesis space science mission has been delayed until at least Wednesday as engineers investigate the possibility of a faulty power supply on the spacecraft. Genesis was scheduled to lift off at 12:36 pm EDT (1636 GMT) Monday atop a Delta 2 from Cape Canaveral, but mission managers elected late Sunday to delay the launch until Tuesday. The decision was made after a power supply component similar to one in the spacecraft failed a recent lab test. The delay will give engineers time to perform a "paper chase" and determine if the power supply on the spacecraft shares any heritage with the failed system. On Monday managers decided to delay the launch until Wednesday to give engineers more time to complete checks of the system. If the component checks out the launch will take place at 12:31 pm EDT (1631 GMT) Wednesday. Once launched, Genesis will travel to the Earth-Sun L1 Lagrange point, where it will spend more than two years collecting samples of the solar wind that will be returned to Earth for study in 2004.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list