spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launch fails
Posted: Tue, Feb 28, 2006, 10:14 PM ET (0314 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) The launch of a commercial communications satellite on a Proton failed Tuesday night when the rocket's upper stage shut down prematurely. The Proton M rocket, carrying the Arabsat 4A spacecraft, lifted off on schedule at 3:10 pm EST Tuesday (2010 GMT Tuesday, 2:10 am Wednesday local time). The lower stages of the Proton had placed the spacecraft and the Breeze M upper stage into a low parking orbit. The Breeze M was scheduled to fire four times to place Arabsat 4A into geosynchronous transfer orbit, but according to a statement by International Launch Services (ILS), the Breeze M "shut down early during its planned burn sequence." While ILS did not comment on the status of the satellite, it is likely in a useless low orbit. The cause of the failure is not known, and a Russian state commission is being formed to investigate the failure, according to ILS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 15
ULA demos Vulcan Centaur rocket assembly, shows new welders
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
1st Daytime Florida Launch in Months to Bring Heavy Crowds
Spectrum News — 5:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Humans need Mars as a 'plan B' to avoid extinction, says physicist Michio Kaku
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list