spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches solar science satellite
Posted: Tue, Jul 31, 2001, 3:12 PM ET (1912 GMT)
A Ukrainian-built rocket launched a Russian spacecraft late Monday on a mission to study the Sun. The Tsiklon-3 booster lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome, Russia, at 4 pm EDT (2000 GMT) Monday, placing into low Earth orbit the Koronas-F spacecraft. From its 500-km orbit, inclined 82.5 degrees to the Equator, Koronas-F will observe the Sun at wavelengths ranging from radio waves to gamma rays, with an emphasis on studying flares and other intense solar activity. Launch of the spacecraft had been planned for late last week but was delayed when a problem with a gyroscope in the booster's third stage was discovered, according to the online publication RussianSpaceWeb.com. The launch was the first for the Ukrainian-built Tsiklon-3 since a December 2000 launch attempt that failed when the booster's third stage shut down prematurely.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, May 22
ULA machinists vote to end strike against Alabama rocket plant
Huntsville Times — 7:13 am ET (1113 GMT)
David PavlĂ­k From SpaceX to Join Kiwi.com as CIO
PR Newswire — 7:12 am ET (1112 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list