spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 1 launch fails
Updated: Fri, Mar 24, 2006, 8:59 PM ET (0159 GMT)
Originally Posted: Fri, Mar 24, 2006, 6:47 PM ET (2347 GMT)
Falcon 1 test firing March 2006 (SpaceX) The inaugural launch of SpaceX's Falcon 1 rocket failed shortly after liftoff Friday afternoon. The rocket lifted off from Omelek Island, part of Kwajalein Atoll, at 5:30 pm EST (2230 GMT). A webcast of a video feed from the rocket itself was cut off moments after liftoff, and company officials confirmed several minutes later that the vehicle was lost after about a minute of powered flight. No further details about the launch failure have been released. The rocket was carrying Falconsat 2, a small satellite built by Air Force Academy cadets.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list