spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Thu, Mar 30, 2006, 8:49 AM ET (1349 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-8 launch (Energia) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying the next crew for the International Space Station as well as the first Brazilian astronaut lifted off Wednesday evening. A Soyuz rocket launched from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:30 pm EST Wednesday (0230 GMT Thursday) and placed the Soyuz TMA-8 spacecraft into orbit about ten minutes later. On board the spacecraft are the two members of the Expedition 13 ISS crew, Pavel Vinogradov and Jeff Williams, as well as the first Brazilian astronaut, Marcos Pontes. Vinogradov and Williams will relieve the Expedition 12 crew of Bill McArthur and Valery Tokarev, who have been the station for six months. The Soyuz is scheduled to dock with the ISS Friday at 11:19 pm EST (0419 GMT Saturday). The two crews will spend a week on the station together before McArthur, Tokarev, and Pontes return to Earth on the Soyuz TMA-7 spacecraft currently docked to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC chairman endorses SpaceX satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:29 PM ET (2329 GMT)

Soyuz launches Progress after delay
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)

NASA budget proposal seeks to cancel WFIRST
Posted: Sat, Feb 17 6:20 PM ET (2320 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 20
The challenges of life in space
Edwardsville (IL) Intelligencer — 7:23 pm ET (0023 GMT)
Cancelling WFIRST Will Permanently Ruin NASA
Forbes.com — 7:22 pm ET (0022 GMT)
Budget proposal: NASA locks down $19.9B
Sandusky (OH) Register — 7:20 pm ET (0020 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list