spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Bad weather delays Genesis launch until Friday
Posted: Thu, Aug 2, 2001, 11:40 AM ET (1540 GMT)
Genesis spacecraft illustration (NASA) Poor weather forecast for Cape Canaveral led launch officials early Thursday to delay the launch of NASA's Genesis space science mission until Friday. NASA had hoped to launch the Delta 2 carrying Genesis at 12:27 pm EDT (1627 GMT) Thursday, but after meeting early Thursday decided to postpone the launch given the poor weather conditions predicted for the day. NASA is now targeting a launch at 12:24 pm EDT (1624 GMT) Friday, although weather conditions could again force a postponement. Originally scheduled for launch on Monday, July 30, Genesis was grounded for two days while engineers checked to make sure the spacecraft's power converters did not share the same defect that caused similar converters to fail a recent lab test. The launch was rescheduled for Wednesday, but postponed because of thick clouds. Once launched, Genesis will travel to the Earth-Sun L1 Lagrange point, where it will spend more than two years collecting samples of the solar wind that will be returned to Earth for study in 2004.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list