spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather grounds Genesis again
Posted: Fri, Aug 3, 2001, 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)
Genesis spacecraft illustration (NASA) Bad weather kept NASA from launching the Genesis space science spacecraft Friday for the third consecutive day, and other launches will keep the spacecraft grounded until at least the middle of next week. The 12:24 pm EDT (1624 GMT) launch attempt Friday was scrubbed 12 minutes before launch when it became clear that clouds and rain would not permit the Delta 2 booster to launch. Friday's scrub marks the third consecutive day that weather prevented the launch; the launch was delayed Monday for two days to check into concerns regarding a power converter on the spacecraft. The next launch attempt has not been scheduled in part because of two other launches planned from Cape Canaveral next week: a Titan 4B launch of a military early-warning satellite on Monday and the liftoff of the space shuttle Discovery on Thursday. The earliest the next launch attempt could take place is Wednesday, assuming the Titan 4B launch occurs on schedule. Spaceflight Now reported that NASA is considering pushing back the launch of Discovery to allow additional launch opportunities for Genesis before its launch window closes August 14. If Genesis does not launch by the 14th it will have to wait until December, when the next launch window opens.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 23
NASA, Iridium carpooled on Tuesday’s SpaceX mission
Los Angeles Business Journal — 6:01 am ET (1001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list