spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery rolled out to pad
Posted: Sat, May 20, 2006, 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
STS-121: rollout (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Discovery is now on the launch pad in advance of its planned July launch. NASA rolled Discovery out from the Vehicle Assembly Building (VAB) starting at 12:45 pm EDT (1645 GMT), arriving at pad 39B nearly eight hours later. Discovery is scheduled for launch on mission STS-121 July 1, at the beginning of a window that extends through July 19. Shuttle managers said they were confident that they would be ready for launch by then, as a preliminary analysis shows that the shuttle is can safely launch without problematic foam ramps on its external tank that serve an aerodynamic purpose but also shed foam during flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list