spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Weather scrubs shuttle launch
Posted: Thu, Aug 9, 2001, 7:35 PM ET (2335 GMT)
STS-105 patch NASA delayed Thursday's launch of the shuttle Discovery on mission STS-105 by a day after clouds and thunderstorms approached the launch site. The countdown for the launch, scheduled for 5:37 pm EDT (2137 GMT), was stopped at the T-9 minute mark when it became clear to launch controllers that weather would not permit a launch Thursday afternoon. The launch has been rescheduled for Friday at 5:15 pm EDT (2115 GMT), in the middle of a 10-minute launch window. However, forecasters are calling for a 70 percent chance of unacceptable weather, primarily because of the threat of afternoon thunderstorms. When launched, Discovery will perform a 12-day mission to the International Space Station, arriving with the new three-man Expedition Three crew and returning with the Expedition Two crew that has been on the station since March.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 23
Cover Story: The ultimate frontier market
The Edge Daily (Malaysia) — 1:58 am ET (0658 GMT)
Next-generation weather satellite in orbit, gets new name
Huntsville Times — 1:56 am ET (0656 GMT)
Successful First International Moon Village Workshop at ISU
International Space University — 1:53 am ET (0653 GMT)
The Short Life and Death of a Space Tourism Company
Air & Space — 1:51 am ET (0651 GMT)
Building for a Future in Space
University College Dublin Observer — 1:47 am ET (0647 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list