space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

NASA sets August 27 launch for Atlantis
Posted: Thu, Aug 17, 2006, 7:15 AM ET (1115 GMT)
STS-115: logo NASA managers on Wednesday chose August 27th as the launch date for the next shuttle mission, provided that two issues with the shuttle Atlantis are resolved by then. Officials said that they are still studying whether bolts holding an antenna in place in the shuttle's cargo bay should be replaced; if they decide this week to make that change, the repair would take place next week. Engineers are also still studying the cause of a thermostat malfunction with one of the shuttle's hydraulics units during the STS-121 mission last month. The potential of damage to the orbiter from foam shedding off the external tank was not a major issue in this review, unlike for the STS-121 mission. Should those problems be resolved, Atlantis would launch at 4:30 pm EDT (2030 GMT) on mission STS-115. The primary purpose of the mission is to install a solar power truss on the station, the first major assembly work on the station since before the Columbia accident in 2003.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:51 PM ET (2051 GMT)

Blue Origin tests New Shepard vehicle, lands rocket stage
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:50 PM ET (2050 GMT)

H-2A launches commercial satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 29
UAE space programme a conduit for cooperation
The National (UAE) — 4:03 am ET (0903 GMT)
Ben Fogle: what happened when I met Buzz Aldrin
The Sunday Telegraph — 4:01 am ET (0901 GMT)
Space tourism has people lining up despite cost, safety issues
Pasadena Star-News — 3:56 am ET (0856 GMT)
Cornwall's Space Race Begins
Pirate FM (UK) — 3:56 am ET (0856 GMT)
ISRO chief: Climate change a great challenge
PTI — 3:54 am ET (0854 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list