spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle antenna bolts replaced
Posted: Mon, Aug 21, 2006, 8:17 PM ET (0017 GMT)
STS-115: logo NASA shuttle managers said that a weekend repair task on the shuttle Atlantis was a success, keeping the mission on track for a launch this Sunday. Over the weekend technicians replaced several bolts used to attach a Ku-band antenna to the shuttle's cargo bay. The replacement was warranted after engineers determined that some of the bolts were too short, running the risk of the antenna coming loose during launch and damaging the orbiter. Technicians found that the antenna was securely anchored with the old bolts, but decided to go ahead and replace the bolts with longer ones as a precaution. The successful repair keeps the STS-115 mission on schedule for launch on Sunday August 27 at 4:30 pm EDT (2030 GMT).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list