spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronauts finish second spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Aug 19, 2001, 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)
STS-105 EVA #1 (NASA) Two shuttle astronauts completed the second of two spacewalks outside the International Space Station Saturday. Astronauts Pat Forrester and Dan Berry worked outside ISS for five and a half hours, installing backup heater cables that will be used for a truss assembly that will be added to the station next year. The shuttle and station crews are wrapping up Discovery's visit to the station: Sunday the shuttle's robot arm will detach the Leonardo cargo module from the station and install it in the shuttle's cargo bay for return to Earth. Discovery is scheduled to undock from the station Monday morning at 10:52 am EDT (1452 GMT) and return to Earth two days later.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 15
Countdown begins after Sutherland wins space race
The Daily Express — 11:53 pm ET (0353 GMT)
Lockheed chosen to launch Britain’s commercial space age
Financial Times — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Virgin Orbit agreement to launch satellites from Cornwall
UK Aviation News — 11:49 pm ET (0349 GMT)
Scotland chosen for UK’s first spaceport
The Scotsman — 11:48 pm ET (0348 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list