spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Inspection finds no shuttle damage
Posted: Mon, Dec 11, 2006, 8:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)
STS-116: logo (NASA) An inspection of the exterior of the shuttle Discovery on Sunday turned up no evidence of damage to its tiles and panels sustained during its launch Saturday night. Astronauts used a boom attached to the shuttle's robot arm to scan the upper surfaces of the shuttle, as well as the leading edges of its wings and its nose cap. Accelerometer data collected during the shuttle's launch registered four minor debris hits during launch, but none strong enough to cause any damage. Discovery is scheduled to dock with the ISS on Monday at 5:05 pm EST (2205 GMT).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Thursday, August 25
Could a Spacecraft Make it to Proxima Centauri?
Sky & Telescope — 12:42 am ET (0442 GMT)
Proxima b: Can we actually send a probe there?
Christian Science Monitor — 12:39 am ET (0439 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list