spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches NRO satellite
Posted: Fri, Dec 15, 2006, 7:47 AM ET (1247 GMT)
Delta 2 launch file photo (Boeing) A Delta 2 rocket launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) on Thursday in the first launch carried out under the auspices of the United Launch Alliance (ULA). The Delta 2 7920-10 lifted off from Space Launch Complex 2W at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 4 pm EST (2100 GMT), deploying its payload into orbit about one hour later. No details about the NRO satellite, designated NROL-21, were provided. The launch was the first since the ULA officially started operations at the beginning of the month. The ULS combined the government launch operations of Boeing and Lockheed Martin, and includes the Delta 2 as well as the two companies' EELV rockets.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Sunday, September 23
Can tourism propel space exploration to new heights?
Christian Science Monitor — 8:41 am ET (1241 GMT)
Japan space robots start asteroid survey
AFP — 8:35 am ET (1235 GMT)
Kounotori 7 cargo resupply mission on its way to ISS
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:35 am ET (1235 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list