spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle Discovery lands in Florida
Updated: Wed, Aug 22, 2001, 3:36 PM ET (1936 GMT)
Originally Posted: Wed, Aug 22, 2001, 12:38 PM ET (1638 GMT)
STS-105 Discovery landing at KSC The space shuttle Discovery safely landed in Florida Wednesday afternoon, one orbit later than planned. The shuttle touched down on Runway 15 at the Kennedy Space Center at 2:23 pm EDT (1823 GMT). The landing was originally scheduled for 12:47 pm EDT (1647 GMT), but was postponed when an isolated shower formed near the runway. The shower dissipated in time to permit the second landing attempt. The landing completes the 12-day STS-105 mission, returning to Earth the International Space Station's Expedition Two crew. The next shuttle mission will not take place until late November, when the shuttle Endeavour launches to replace the Expedition Three crew that Discovery brought to the station this month.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list