spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Astronauts perform second ISS spacewalk
Posted: Mon, Feb 5, 2007, 7:34 AM ET (1234 GMT)
ISS EVA on Feb 4 2007 (NASA) Two American astronauts performed the second in a series of three spacewalks outside the International Space Station on Sunday, completing work on the station's cooling system. Mike Lopez-Alegria and Sunita Williams spent seven hours and 11 minutes outside the ISS on Sunday, completing work started on an EVA on January 31 to reroute the station's cooling system into its permanent configuration. The two also retracted and stowed a radiator panel that is no longer needed, as well as miscellaneous other tasks. During the cooling system work a small amount of ammonia coolant leaked out, but posed no hazard to the astronauts. During the EVA Williams set the record for cumulative EVA time by a woman, at 22 hours and 37 minutes, breaking the mark previously held by Kathy Thornton. Lopez-Alegria and Williams will perform the final spacewalk in this series of three closely-spaced EVAs on Thursday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches four O3b satellites
Posted: Fri, Dec 19 7:22 AM ET (1222 GMT)

SpaceX postpones ISS cargo mission to January
Posted: Fri, Dec 19 7:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)

India launches GSLV Mark 3 on successful test flight
Posted: Thu, Dec 18 7:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

news links
Saturday, December 20
Govt Should Meet All ISRO’s Resource Needs
The New Indian Express — 9:18 am ET (1418 GMT)
India's 20-Minute Space Mission is a Big Deal
NDTV.com — 9:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
MkIII Rocket’s Unmanned Crew Module to Reach Ennore Shore
Express News Service — 9:17 am ET (1417 GMT)
NASA Administrator Charles Bolden
PBS — 9:15 am ET (1415 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list