spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Delta 2 launches THEMIS
Posted: Sun, Feb 18, 2007, 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of THEMIS (NASA/KSC) A Delta 2 successfully launched Saturday evening five space science satellites that will study activity in the Earth's magnetosphere. The United Launch Alliance (ULA) Delta 2 lifted off from Pad 17B at Cape Canaveral at 6:01 pm EST (2301 GMT) Saturday, and ejected the spacecraft into transfer orbits 73 minutes later. The launch had been delayed a day because of high winds. The five THEMIS (Time History of Events and Macroscale Interactions during Substorms) satellites will be used to study the development of large energy releases called "substorms" in the Earth's magnetosphere. The launch was also the first East Coast launch conducted by ULA, the Boeing-Lockheed Martin joint venture that handles Delta and Atlas launches for the US government.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launch postponed
Posted: Thu, Nov 27 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list