spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
Rosetta flies past Mars
Posted: Sun, Feb 25, 2007, 2:29 PM ET (1929 GMT)
Rosetta image of Mars during flyby (ESA) ESA's Rosetta spacecraft flew past Mars early Sunday, keeping the spacecraft on course for its eventual rendezvous with a comet. ESA mission controllers confirmed at 9:57 pm EST Saturday (0257 GMT) that Rosetta had successfully completed its flyby of Mars, passing within 250 kilometers of the planet's surface. The flyby was required to keep the spacecraft on course to reach the comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko in 2014. Rosetta, launched in 2004, already performed on flyby of Earth last year and will perform two more in November 2007 and November 2009 before reaching the comet.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
ULA takes delivery of RD-180 engines
Posted: Thu, Aug 21 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

Weather delays Soyuz launch of Galileo satellites
Posted: Thu, Aug 21 12:18 PM ET (1618 GMT)

China launches Earth observation satellite
Posted: Tue, Aug 19 9:09 AM ET (1309 GMT)

news links
Friday, August 22
Voyager Map Details Neptune's Strange Moon Triton
NASA/JPL — 5:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Curiosity Mars rover's drill test cut short
BBC — 5:45 am ET (0945 GMT)
Hints of elusive early stars found
BBC — 5:45 am ET (0945 GMT)

Thursday, August 21


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list