spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan launch aborted again, rescheduled for Tuesday
Updated: Mon, Jan 22, 2001, 8:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
Originally Posted: Sun, Jan 21, 2001, 12:13 PM ET (1713 GMT)
A military weather satellite remained on the ground Sunday after the second launch attempt in as many days was scrubbed because of technical problems. The countdown to the 8:58 am EST (1358 GMT) launch of a Titan 2 was stopped at T-19 seconds when an oxidizer "prevalve" in the rocket opened too slowly. Launch controllers scrambled to correct the problem and restarted the countdown from T-90 seconds, but the launch was aborted again when it became clear liftoff would not take place before the end of the ten-minute launch window, according to Spaceflight Now. The launch has been rescheduled for Tuesday; if the Titan does not launch then it will face a two-month delay to refurbish the rocket. The booster, a refurbished ICBM, is carrying the Defense Meteorological Satellite Program (DMSP) F19 spacecraft, which will provide weather data for the U.S. military from its perch in a circular, polar low-Earth orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list