spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches classified Russian spacecraft
Posted: Sat, Aug 25, 2001, 10:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
Proton launch (file photo) A Proton rocket successfully launched a classified military satellite late Friday night. The Proton-K lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 4:34 pm EDT (2034 GMT) and placed into orbit six hours later a spacecraft designed only as Kosmos-2379. The nature of the spacecraft was not announced by Russian officials, but SPACE.com noted that the profile of the launch, and the placement of the spacecraft into geosynchronous orbit, suggests that the spacecraft is a military communications satellite. The launch was scheduled for Thursday but was scrubbed at the last minute because of a problem with the Proton.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list