spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches navigation satellite
Posted: Sat, Apr 14, 2007, 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)
Long March 3A launch of Compass satellite (Xinhua) A Long March rocket launched a Chinese navigation satellite early Saturday, the second Chinese launch in less than a week. The Long March 3A rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 4:14 pm EDT Friday (2014 GMT Friday, 4:11 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed its satellite into a medium Earth orbit with an altitude of 21,500 km. The spacecraft, whose specific name was not given in Chinese accounts of the launch, is said to be part of China's planned Compass navigation system. The system will eventually consist of 5 GEO satellites and 30 MEO satellites, although no timetable was given for the system's completion. China launched a GEO navigation satellite in February.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 21
Keith C. Burris: The first man was the right man
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette — 9:59 am ET (1359 GMT)
The billionaires fuelling a space race
BBC — 9:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list