spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Japan launches H-2A
Posted: Wed, Aug 29, 2001, 11:31 AM ET (1531 GMT)
H-2A launch on maiden flight (NASDA) The Japanese space agency NASDA successfully launched an H-2A booster on its maiden flight early Wednesday. The H-2A lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center in southern Japan at 3:00 am EDT (0700 GMT, 1600 local time) and placed into orbit a test payload. The launch was delayed for three hours because of problems connecting a mobile launch platform with ground equipment. NASDA officials confirmed at a press conference 90 minutes after liftoff that the booster had placed the second stage and the Vehicle Evaluation Payload 2 (VEP2) test satellite into geosynchronous transfer orbit. The VEP2 will remain attached to the second stage until the two reenter the Earth's atmosphere in approximately one year. The launch is a major success for Japan, which had not successfully launched a spacecraft in three years. The H-2A is designed to be a more reliable, less expensive version of the H-2, a Japanese launch vehicle retired after back-to-back failures in February 1998 and November 1999. The H-2A's improvements include more powerful second-stage and solid-propellent strap-on engines and a simplified first-stage engine.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

"Monster" planet puzzles astronomers
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:14 AM ET (1514 GMT)

Chairman of House Science Committee to retire
Posted: Sun, Nov 5 10:13 AM ET (1513 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 16
Delta II rocket launch at Vandenberg AFB rescheduled for early Saturday morning
KSBY-TV San Luis Obispo, CA — 12:03 am ET (0503 GMT)
Long Beach-based Virgin Orbit scores Department of Defense deal
Long Beach (CA) Press-Telegram — 12:02 am ET (0502 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list