spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Pegasus launches NASA earth science spacecraft
Posted: Thu, Apr 26, 2007, 8:23 AM ET (1223 GMT)
Pegasus launch (OSC file photo) A Pegasus rocket successfully launched Wednesday a small satellite designed to study clouds in the Earth's upper atmosphere. The Pegasus XL was deployed from its L-1011 carrier aircraft off the coast from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 4:26 pm EDT (2026 GMT) and placed the 200-kilogram Aeronomy of Ice in the Mesosphere (AIM) spacecraft into polar orbit. AIM is designed to study high-altitude noctilucent clouds, usually only seen in polar regions at night but increasingly found at lower latitudes. The launch was the first this year for the Pegasus, a small launcher developed by Orbital Sciences Corporation.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list