spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Suborbital rocket launch a success
Posted: Mon, Apr 30, 2007, 8:33 AM ET (1233 GMT)
A commercial suborbital sounding rocket successfully launched from New Mexico Saturday, carrying a payload that included the ashes of an astronaut and actor. The UP Aerospace SpaceLoft SL-2 rocket lifted off from the site of Spaceport America in southern New Mexico at 10:58 am EDT (1458 GMT) Saturday, flying a suborbital trajectory that reached a peak altitude of 117 kilometers before landing on the grounds of the White Sands Missile Range about 50 kilometers east of the launch site. The rocket carried a variety of payloads for commercial customers. Among the payloads were cremated remains of 200 people, including Mercury astronaut Gordon Cooper and Star Trek actor James Doohan. The launch came seven months after UP Aerospace's first launch from the site ended in failure when the rocket corkscrewed out of control and fell well short of its planned altitude.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 18
Get an Inside Look at SpaceX's Astronaut Training Sims
Wired News — 8:52 am ET (1252 GMT)
Space Force, Done Right, Will Move U.S. Ahead
The Heritage Foundation — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
National Academies: NASA needs a plan for Mars
The Planetary Society — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list