spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Cosmonauts perform ISS spacewalk
Posted: Thu, May 31, 2007, 7:40 AM ET (1140 GMT)
ISS spacewalk on 2007 May 30 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts performed a spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Wednesday, installing shields on the exterior of an ISS module. Cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov spent five hours and 25 minutes outside the ISS starting at 3:05 pm EDT (1905 GMT) Wednesday. The primary purpose of the spacewalk was to begin the installation of Service Module Debris Protection panels on the exterior of the Zvezda module, providing the module with enhanced protection from micrometeorites and orbital debris impacts. Additional panels will be installed during another EVA on June 6. The two also rerouted a cable on a GPS antenna outside the station that will be used to help guide Europe's ATV cargo spacecraft to the station on its first flight late this year. The third member of the ISS crew, American astronaut Sunita Williams, remained inside the ISS during the EVA, supporting the work of the two cosmonauts.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Proton launch postponed
Posted: Thu, Nov 27 9:26 AM ET (1426 GMT)

3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list