spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
Cosmonauts complete ISS shield work
Posted: Thu, Jun 7, 2007, 12:59 PM ET (1659 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2007 June 6 (NASA) Two spacewalking cosmonauts completed the installation of shields on the exterior of an International Space Station module on Wednesday to protect it from micrometeorite and orbital debris impacts. Cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov spent five hours and 37 minutes outside the station, starting at 10:23 am EDT (1423 GMT), with the primary mission of installing 12 shields to a portion of the Zvezda service module. The two had installed five similar shields during an EVA on May 30. In addition to the shield work, the two also installed an Ethernet cable on the Zarya module and deployed a Russian experiment on the exterior of the Pirs module. The work went smoothly, with the two often ahead of schedule. During the spacewalk the two cosmonauts noted a small hole in the Zarya module, about a half-centimeter in diameter, presumably caused by a micrometeorite or orbital debris impact. The damage is not considered serious, however. The third member of the ISS crew, NASA astronaut Sunita Williams, monitored the EVA from inside the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX delays Falcon 9 launch to review systems
Posted: Wed, Aug 27 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

Commission established to review Soyuz launch anomaly
Posted: Tue, Aug 26 1:02 PM ET (1702 GMT)

Next Falcon 9 launch slips one day
Posted: Mon, Aug 25 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 27
Spaceports are unlikely to get off the ground
Financial Times — 6:38 pm ET (2238 GMT)
Europa: How Less Can Be More
The Planetary Society — 6:36 pm ET (2236 GMT)
If men are from Mars, how come we canít find them there?
The National (UAE) — 6:34 pm ET (2234 GMT)
Probe continues on Wallops rocket failure
Salisbury (MD) Daily Times — 6:32 pm ET (2232 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list