spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlantis lands in California
Posted: Fri, Jun 22, 2007, 8:30 PM ET (0030 GMT)
STS-117: landing (NASA) The space shuttle Atlantis landed safely Friday afternoon at Edwards Air Force Base in California after weather prevented attempts to land in Florida. Atlantis landed at Edwards at 3:49 pm EDT (1949 GMT) Friday on the first of three possible landing windows there. Atlantis went to California after weather prevented landing at the Kennedy Space Center in Florida for the second straight day. The landing ended the nearly 14-day STS-117 mission, which features the addition of a new truss segment and solar panel unit to the ISS. The shuttle also returns with ISS astronaut Sunita Williams, who spent six months on the ISS; she was replaced by Clay Anderson, who flew to the ISS on the shuttle. The next shuttle mission, STS-118, is scheduled for launch in August.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list