spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress launched to ISS
Posted: Thu, Aug 2, 2007, 9:04 PM ET (0104 GMT)
Soyuz launch (Energia file photo) A Progress cargo spacecraft was launched late Thursday on a resupply mission to the International Space Station. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Progress M-61 spacecraft (called Progress 26 by NASA) lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 1:34 pm EDT (1734 GMT), placing the spacecraft into orbit nine minutes later. The spacecraft is carrying two and a half tons of food, water, propellant, and other supplies for the ISS. Included in the Progress' payload are two space computers that will serve as backups to existing ISS computers that malfunctioned during a shuttle mission to the station in June. The Progress is scheduled to dock with the ISS on Sunday. An older Progress spacecraft, M-59, undocked from the station Wednesday night to make room for the new spacecraft, burning up in the Earth's atmosphere several hours later.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Wednesday, May 4
Barbara Mikulski at Wallops: 'May the force be with us'
Salisbury (MD) Daily Times — 5:42 am ET (0942 GMT)
New Antares Rocket Tentatively Set to Launch in July at Wallops
WXDE-FM Milford, DE — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)
Mikulksi confident NASA Wallops will continue to thrive
WMDT-TV Delmarva — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)
ExoMars rover mission delayed to 2020
SpaceFlight Insider — 5:32 am ET (0932 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list