spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Endeavour launches on mission STS-118
Posted: Wed, Aug 8, 2007, 7:27 PM ET (2327 GMT)
STS-118: launch (NASA/KSC) The space shuttle Endeavour launched late Wednesday afternoon on a mission to the International Space Station. Endeavour lifted off from pad 39A at the Kennedy Space Center on time at 6:36 pm EDT (2236 GMT) after a smooth countdown and entered orbit eight minutes later. The main purpose of the STS-118 mission is to install a new truss segment to the International Space Station and deliver additional equipment to the facility, including a new gyro used to control the station's attitude that will be installed during one of the three EVAs planned for the mission. The STS-118 include notably includes former teacher Barbara Morgan, the runner-up to Christa McAuliffe in the Teacher in Space program in the mid-1980s. The mission is the first for Endeavour since STS-113 in late 2002, the mission before STS-107; Endeavour underwent an overhaul while the other two orbiters, Discovery and Atlantis, returned to flight.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 27
Delta IV rocket launch scrubbed for fourth time
My News 13 Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
Delta rocket scrubbed due to severe weather
WESH-TV Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
To infinity and beyond: quest for resources enters its space age
The National (UAE) — 9:45 am ET (1345 GMT)
Plea to make Moray spaceport bid priority
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 9:43 am ET (1343 GMT)
NASA Exec Says, 'Boldly Go!'
EE Times — 9:41 am ET (1341 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list