spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches Pirs space station module
Posted: Sat, Sep 15, 2001, 11:11 AM ET (1511 GMT)
Pirs docking module illustration (NASA) A Russian Soyuz booster successfully launched a new docking module for the International Space Station Friday evening. The Soyuz lifted off from Baikonur, Kazakhstan at 7:35 pm EDT (2335 GMT) Friday and placed into orbit a modified Progress spacecraft, M-CO1. The primary payload of M-CO1 is the Piers (Russian for "pier") docking module, which will be attached to the nadir docking port on the Zvezda service module. Piers will provide an additional docking port for Soyuz and Progress spacecraft as well as an airlock for staging EVAs from the Russian segment of the station. Three EVAs are planned for October by the Expedition Three crew to electrically mate the module to the station and attach additional equipment to its exterior. The Progress is also carrying additional cargo, including scientific equipment and maintenance supplies. The module is scheduled to dock with the station at 9:06 pm EDT Sunday (0106 GMT Monday).
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Final Delta 2 launches ICESat-2
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)

Japanese ISS cargo mission launch scrubbed
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX to announce new plans for circumlunar trip
Posted: Sun, Sep 16 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 21
Air Force padded its $13 billion Space Force estimate, analyst says
Washington Examiner — 5:51 am ET (0951 GMT)
Kleos Space seals launch deal for 'scouting mission' satellites
Luxembourg Times — 5:49 am ET (0949 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list