space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Soyuz launched to ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 10, 2007, 7:08 PM ET (2308 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-11 launch (NASA) A Soyuz spacecraft carrying a three-person crew, including the first female space station commander and first Malaysian cosmonaut, launched on a journey to the ISS on Wednesday. A Soyuz rocket carrying the Soyuz TMA-11 spacecraft lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 9:22 am EDT (1322 GMT); the spacecraft reached orbit nine minutes later. The Soyuz is carrying the Expedition 16 crew of Peggy Whitson and Yuri Malenchenko, as well as Malaysian guest cosmonaut Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, the first Malaysian to fly in space. The Soyuz is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 10:52 am EDT (1452 GMT) Friday. Shukor will return to Earth on October 21 along with Expedition 15 cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov, while Whitson, the first woman to command the ISS, and Malenchenko will remain on the station for the next six months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Friday, October 9
Space Studies to Reach Attapadi
Express News Service — 6:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
India's GPS to be ready by March next: Isro
Deccan Herald — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Pluto's sunrises and sunsets are blue, NASA finds
Mashable — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
NASA: Pluto Has Blue Sky
Voice of America — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list