spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Shuttle docks with ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 26, 2007, 1:51 AM ET (0551 GMT)
STS-120: docking with ISS (NASA) The space shuttle Discovery docked with the International Space Station on Thursday morning, marking the beginning of an ambitious assembly mission at the station. Discovery docked with the station's Destiny module at 8:40 am EDT (1240 GMT), and hatches separating the two spacecraft opened about two hours later. Later in the day Discovery astronaut Dan Tani officially became a member of the ISS crew when he installed his seat liner in the Soyuz docked to the station; he replaced Clay Anderson, who will return to Earth on the shuttle. Shuttle managers also informed the STS-120 crew that additional detailed inspections of the shuttle's exterior will likely not be required, because the images collected to date showed no evidence of damage to the shuttle's tiles and panels. The next major event of the mission will be an EVA on Friday, where Scott Parazynski and Douglas Wheelock will help install the Harmony module on the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches Dragon to ISS
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:28 AM ET (1628 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crewmembers to Earth
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:19 AM ET (1619 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches four Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Dec 16 11:14 AM ET (1614 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 18
ArianeGroup to start production of the first Ariane 62
Ariane Group — 6:26 am ET (1126 GMT)
Rocket Lab launch delayed until New Year after power fault
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
New launch window in new year
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:24 am ET (1124 GMT)
Nominations Open for Space Council’s Users’ Advisory Group
SpacePolicyOnline.com — 6:20 am ET (1120 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list