spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Harmony module added to ISS
Posted: Fri, Oct 26, 2007, 8:32 PM ET (0032 GMT)
STS-120: Harmony module installation (NASA) The crews of the International Space Station and space shuttle Discovery added a new node module to the station as part of a six-hour spacewalk. The Harmony module was moved from the cargo bay of Discovery to its temporary position on the port side of the Unity module by the station's robotic arm during a spacewalk by STS-120 astronauts Scott Parazynski and Doug Wheelock that started at 5:02 am EDT (0902 GMT) Friday. Harmony will be moved to its permanent location at the end of the Destiny module after the shuttle leaves the station. In addition to supporting the installation, Parazynski and Wheelock prepared the P6 solar power truss for its relocation during a later spacewalk and also retrieved a failed communications antenna during their 6-hour, 14-minute spacewalk. The shuttle and station crews will enter the Harmony module for the first time Saturday, while preparing for the shuttle mission's second EVA on Sunday.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
3-D printer tested on ISS
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 7:10 AM ET (1210 GMT)

Astrobotic, CMU unveil lunar rover
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:55 AM ET (1155 GMT)

Pegasus wins contract for NASA satellite launch
Posted: Wed, Nov 26 6:38 AM ET (1138 GMT)

news links
Thursday, November 27
Proton postpones Astra 2G launch
Broadband TV News — 9:08 am ET (1408 GMT)
A rocket landing in Tortuguero?
Tico Times (Costa Rica) — 9:06 am ET (1406 GMT)
Lockheed Martin Opens Commercial Space Headquarters In Denver, CO
Business Facilities — 9:03 am ET (1403 GMT)
Earth DNA survives the extremes of space
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 9:00 am ET (1400 GMT)
DNA 'can survive re-entry into Earth's atmosphere'
The Daily Telegraph — 8:58 am ET (1358 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list