spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Rosetta flies past Earth
Posted: Wed, Nov 14, 2007, 6:17 AM ET (1117 GMT)
Rosetta Earth flyby illustration (ESA) ESA's Rosetta spacecraft flew past Earth on Tuesday, a flyby that keeps the spacecraft on course for its ultimate destination, a comet. Rosetta made its closest approach to Earth at 3:57 pm EST (2057 GMT), passing 5,295 km about the Pacific Ocean southwest of Chile. The flyby is the second of Earth since its launch in March 2004, with a third scheduled for November 2009; Rosetta also flew past Mars in February 2007. The flybys are designed to put the spacecraft on course for its primary destination, 67/P Churyumov-Gerasimenko, where it will arrive in mid-2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list