spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Harmony moved to new location on ISS
Posted: Thu, Nov 15, 2007, 7:25 AM ET (1225 GMT)
Harmony module moved to final location on ISS (NASA) The International Space Station crew moved the Harmony docking node to its permanent location on the station on Wednesday. During a nearly two-hour process that started just before 4 am EST (0900 GMT) Wednesday, the ISS crew used the station's robotic arm to grapple Harmony and move it to the far end of the Destiny module, formerly the home of a shuttle docking adapter. From that new location Harmony will be in position to receive visiting space shuttles, and serve as the attachment point for the Columbus and Kibo lab modules from Europe and Japan, respectively, that will be added to the station in the coming months. Two spacewalks are planned for next week to complete the installation of Harmony in its new location; those spacewalks are pending an investigation into an incident last week on Earth where a cosmonaut reported a smoky odor and sensation of heat in a spacesuit during a test.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list