space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

ISS astronauts outfit Harmony exterior
Posted: Wed, Nov 21, 2007, 6:57 AM ET (1157 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2007 Nov 20 (NASA) Two members of the International Space Station took a seven-hour spacewalk outside the station Tuesday to continue outfitting the new Harmony module at its permanent location. Expedition 16 commander Peggy Whitson and Dan Tani spent 7 hours and 16 minutes outside the ISS starting at 5:10 am EST (1010 GMT), about 50 minutes early. The two completed a number of tasks required to fully complete the installation of Harmony, including configuring avionics, power, and heater cables on Harmony and the PMA-2 docking adapter on the far end of Harmony, as well as moving a fluid tray using by the station's cooling system to its new location on the Destiny module. The two completed their tasks without problems, and had time to perform a number of "get ahead" tasks planned for the next spacewalk, scheduled for Saturday. That spacewalk will complete the installation of Harmony and clear the way for the launch next month of the next ISS module, the European lab module Columbus.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:51 PM ET (2051 GMT)

Blue Origin tests New Shepard vehicle, lands rocket stage
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:50 PM ET (2050 GMT)

H-2A launches commercial satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 29
UAE space programme a conduit for cooperation
The National (UAE) — 4:03 am ET (0903 GMT)
Ben Fogle: what happened when I met Buzz Aldrin
The Sunday Telegraph — 4:01 am ET (0901 GMT)
Space tourism has people lining up despite cost, safety issues
Pasadena Star-News — 3:56 am ET (0856 GMT)
Cornwall's Space Race Begins
Pirate FM (UK) — 3:56 am ET (0856 GMT)
ISRO chief: Climate change a great challenge
PTI — 3:54 am ET (0854 GMT)

about   ·   ·   mailing list