spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GAO report raises questions about Ares 1
Posted: Fri, Nov 30, 2007, 7:50 AM ET (1250 GMT)
Ares 1 launch illustration (NASA) A report released yesterday by the Government Accountability Office (GAO) concluded that NASA has to fill significant gap in its knowledge base in order to successfully develop the Ares 1 rocket. The report said that while the agency had good progress to date on the launch vehicle, there are gaps in the agency's knowledge about relevant requirements, costs, schedule, and technology, as well as uncertainties about the design of Orion, the manned spacecraft that Ares 1 will launch. Ares 1 will feature a five-segment solid rocket booster, derived from the four-stage SRBs used on shuttle flights, with a new liquid-propellant upper stage powered by a J-2X engine. A suborbital test flight of the first Ares 1 is planned for 2009, although the full vehicle will not enter operational service until the middle of the next decade.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Monday, May 30
Here’s what happened in space this week
The Conversation — 8:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
SpaceX launches Thaicom 8 satellite into orbit
Telecompaper — 8:31 am ET (1231 GMT)
Andy Weir: Mars Story
CCTV — 8:25 am ET (1225 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list